12.7.2013 – Crossfit

December 8, 2013

Culmination of the russian squat cycle

Warmed up with a 500m sprint on the rower:  1:37, I think

Normal warmup sets.  First 1RM was 230.  Second 245.  Felt good and strong on both lifts.  Attempted and failed at 255.

In retrospect, and after discussion with Josh, I wasn’t getting my hips forward fast enough coming back up.  Could feel things go soft at the bottom.  With the first two attempts, was able to stiffen up – apparently by bringing my hips/ass forward to get my spine vertical again, and power through with no problem.  On the 255 attempt, I never got my hips forward, got stuck, and had to dump.

Objectively, I should be thrilled.  My target 1RM at the start was 230.  I hit 245, with ease.  But I’m mostly pissed at missing that lift at 255.  Which is silly.  I worked hard the last six weeks, and had an excellent result.

Not sure what to do next.  The elbows are, I think, slowly getting better.  I’m going to try focusing on overhead lifts for a couple of days to see how they respond – I’d like get the upper body caught up with the lower.

LI:
EMOM 12 minutes:
Odd: 1 lap Burpee Broad Jumps
Even: 20 H2H KB Swings

20kg KB, did 10 BBJ per lap.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

